Compulsory online visa payments applied to more countries

The UKBA have made it compulsory for visa applications and payments to be completed online for a wide range of countries across the world. This announcement follows another recent one. It should be expected that more countries will be added to the scheme in the coming weeks.

Under the new system visa applicants will have to apply and pay online, then visit local application centres to submit printed documentation, biometric data and any other material required. Appointments at local application centres have to be booked when completing the online application.

Payments online have to be made using Visa or Mastercard debit or credit cards. Pre-paid cards are accepted as long as they have sufficient funds as required for your application fee.

Online applications and payments are compulsory in the following countries:

  • Angola
  • Bhutan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovena
  • China
  • East Timor
  • India
  • Kosovo
  • Lebanon
  • Malawi
  • Mauritania
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Occupied Territories
  • Romania
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tunisia
  • the Maldives
  • Western Sahara
  • Zambia

You can get more information on how this affects your application, including implementation dates, from the specific country pages of the UKBA website.

Ready To Take The Test
Take a free test - no registration required
Best Selling Series