Changes to the Immigration Rules on 1 July 2013

Minor changes to the Immigration Rules come into effect on 1 July 2013. The changes amend things such as supporting documentation required for applications and new requirements for some countries such as tuberculosis screening.

The changes affect various categories of the points based system and are summarised in pages 40-3 of the Statement of changes in Immigration Rules. The changes include:

  • Changes to the supporting documents required with an approved English language test
  • clarifications around ‘regulated financial institutions’ being regulated to provide personal loans or student loans
  • more legal courses being made exempt from the time limit on study for Tier 4 student visas
  • removing the requirement to perform a resident market labour test for applications for Tier 5 (Religious worker) visas
  • updates and clarifications to the family Immigration Rules
  • updates to the lists of approved financial institutions in Bangladesh and Ghana
The Immigration Rules are also being updated to include the recent additions to the list of countries which require screening for tuberculosis. Applicants for visas for longer than 6 months from the following countries must be screened for tuberculosis as part of their application:
  • China
  • Cameroon
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Macau
  • Malawi
  • Morocco
  • Sierra Leone
  • Uganda
  • Vietnam
  • Zambia

Ready To Take The Test
Take a free test - no registration required
Best Selling Series